Experimenting with Materials

I’ve been having trouble getting the specular highlights to show up on translucent ellipsoids, so I decided to create a program to let me vary the material colors and light strengths with sliders. I partly based it on Spot, but started from scratch because I wanted to control the material properties and lighting intensities in detail. At first I couldn’t get anything to show up in the OpenGL view, it showed up only as a pure white rectangle. I only found the problem after an almost line-by-line comparison of the new code with Spot. At very end of drawRect:, I had forgotten glSwapAPPLE(), so all of that drawing I did never made it to the window.

At first it seemed that specular lighting wasn’t working, but eventually I realized the problem was that the ambient and diffuse components were overwhelming the specular component: apparently the color has maximum level, and once it reaches that, no additional components will make that part of the object brighter.

Demonstrating Materials and Lighting

It was a great help to have the sliders controlling the lighting and material settings in real time, instead of having to go through the edit-compile-link-run cycle. I also had the settings saved in the ID field of the TGA files, so I can (theoretically, at least) refer to them later on. Actually doing it, though, will require me to create a TGA image reader app that will display the ID text along with the image. Yet another app to create, more practice!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

